General Elections

A general election is an opportunity for people in every part of the UK to choose their local MP.

There will be a choice of several candidates in each constituency. The candidate that receives most votes becomes their MP.

This person will represent their constituency in the House of Commons for up to five years.

Sefton has three MPs in total; one for Southport, Sefton Central and Bootle respectively.

Below is a helpful list of Frequently Asked Questions relating to a General Election and what it means for you.

A constituency is an area made of local electoral areas, Sefton is covered by 3 constituency (Southport, Sefton Central and Bootle) and 1 part constituency (Liverpool Walton).

New constituency boundaries will come into effect at the next general election. The table below shows which of Sefton’s electoral wards are in which constituency.

Constituency Name

Electoral Wards in the Constituency





Netherton & Orrell


St Oswald



Sefton Central


Molyneux (Part C1-C3)











Burscough Bridge & Rufford (Part)


North Meols & Hesketh Bank


Tarleton Village



Liverpool Walton

Molyneux (Part C4-C6)


To find out who your local MP is please search for them via this link. 

The date of the next general election has not yet been announced.

The maximum term of a Parliament is five years from the day on which it first met. The current Parliament first met on Tuesday 17 December 2019 and will automatically dissolve on Tuesday 17 December 2024, unless it has been dissolved sooner by the King following a request by the Prime Minister.

The general election take place 25 days later, not counting weekends or any bank holidays that fall within this period.

The current (in power) government can decide when to call a general election.

Then, at the request of the Prime Minister, Parliament can be dissolved by the King which leads directly to a General Election beginning.

You will only know who the candidates are after the deadline for nominations has passed, a list of the candidates who are standing - or 'Statement of Persons Nominated' – will be posted on this website and on local noticeboards.

You can only vote to elect your local MP in a general election. You cannot vote for a new Prime Minister.

The Prime Minister is appointed by the King. The King's appointment of the Prime Minister is guided by constitutional conventions.

The political party that wins the most seats in the House of Commons at a general election usually forms the new government. The leader of that party becomes Prime Minister.

The Prime Minister appoints ministers who work in government departments. The most senior of these attend Cabinet meetings.

A 'hung Parliament' is a Parliament in which no political party wins a majority of seats. The largest party can either form a minority government or enter into a coalition government of two or more parties.

Last Updated on Tuesday, February 27, 2024

Recite Me Button